Canadian Mathematical Society
Canadian Mathematical Society

CMO Qualifying Repêchage Competition

Disclaimer: Ads shown below do not indicate CMS endorsement.

The Repêchage is sponsored by
Sun Life Financial

The Canadian Mathematical Olympiad Qualifying Repêchage (CMOQR or just Repêchage) is an invitation-only contest that serves as a qualifier for the Canadian Mathematical Olympiad (CMO).

Students participating in the Repêchage receive a set of problems whose solutions must be submitted within a week of receipt. Students who do well on the Repêchage are then invited to write the CMO.


2018 Competition

Invitations to the 2018 Repêchage will be sent out through email and through teachers after the COMC 2017 official results are announced in mid-January.

The Repêchage questions will be be distributed to the invited participants by email on January 29, 2018. Competitors will have one week to complete their work and to send their solutions back by email or courier.

2017 Competition

In 2017, the CMS invited 105 students to write the Repêchage. Of these, the following 25 participants wrote solution sets that earned them an invitation to the 2017 CMO in the end of March. Congratulations!

Alexander Monteith-Pistor (Colonel By, Ottawa)
Andrew Dong (Arbour Vista, Guelph)
Andrey Remerov (St Theresa of Lisieux, Richmond Hill)
Andy Kim (U of T Schools, Toronto)
Brian Kehrig (Renert School, Calgary)
Callum Moseley (Richmond Hill, Richmond Hill)
Chayim Lowen (Vanier College, Saint-Laurent)
Dichuan (David) Gao (Appleby College, Oakville)
Edward Jiang (Moscrop, Burnaby)
Fred Zhang (H W Longfellow, Falls Church)
Guolun Li (Lord Byng, Vancouver)
Kevin Li (MEC at Carleton University, Ottawa)
Michael Li (Marc Garneau, Toronto)
Nicholas Sullivan (MEC at Carleton University, Ottawa)
Peter Potaptchik (Lorne Park, Mississauga)
Qizhe You (Abbey Park, Oakville)
Scott Xu (Hon. Vincent Massey, Windsor)
Steven Mai (U of T Schools, Toronto)
Thinula De Silva (Marc Garneau, Toronto)
Vicente Marin-Marquez (Humberside, Toronto)
William Wen (Pierre Elliott Trudeau, Markham)
Yi Jie Wang (Woodlands, Mississauga)
Yunfei Wen (Walter Murray, Saskatoon)
Zachary Lau (Queen Elizabeth, Calgary)
Zhongqi Chen (Bayview, Richmond Hill)

All students invited to write the Repêchage are given free copies of A Taste of Mathematics (ATOM) - one of the CMS's many publications for problem-solving students.

Want a challenge? Try the 2017 problem set yourself! Official solutions are also available.


Students are given invitations to write the Repêchage based primarily on the results of the Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge (COMC). Normally the top 50 students (approx.) from the COMC receive a direct invitation to write the CMO. The next 50-75 students normally receive an invitation to the Repêchage.


Students invited to write the Repêchage must complete a declaration that they meet the eligibility requirements to write the CMO. The eligibility requirements to write the CMO are as follows:

Past Competitions

Preparing for the Repêchage

In addition to the past Repêchage test papers, students are encouraged to use past COMC and CMO papers to help prepare for the Repêchage. The CMS also has many problem-solving resources available for competitors.

To report errors or omissions for this page, please contact

© Canadian Mathematical Society, 2017 :