Fellows of the CMS

2nd Inaugural Class 2019
Second Inaugural Class - Winter Meeting Banquet 2019

The Fellowship recognises CMS members who have made excellent contributions to mathematical research, teaching, or exposition; as well as having distinguished themselves in service to Canada’s mathematical community. In exceptional cases, outstanding contributions to one of these areas may be recognized by fellowship.

Goals of the Fellows Program

  • To recognise mathematicians who have made significant contributions to the profession and to the Canadian mathematical community.
  • To create an honour that will make mathematicians more competitive when being compared to colleagues from other academic disciplines.
  • To support the advancement of mathematicians to leadership positions within their own organisations and the broader society.
  • To increase the relevance and visibility of the CMS.

Responsibilities of a CMS Fellow

  • To maintain CMS membership,
  • To take part in the selection of new Fellows,
  • To be ambassadors for excellence in the mathematics profession, and
  • To advise the CMS Executive Committee and CMS Board of Directors on public matters when requested.
Nominations are currently closed.
Nominations for the Fellows of the CMS 2025 will be accepted beginning January 1.

New Fellows are usually officially recognized during the banquet at the subsequent CMS Winter meeting.

Fellows receive a certificate and their names are listed on the CMS website as long as they maintain membership. The names of new Fellows are included in the CMS Notes each year. Individuals may decline an invitation to become a Fellow, and Fellows may resign at any time. Upon retirement, a Fellow becomes a “Fellow Emeritus”.


  View the list of recipients


To be eligible for nomination to CMS Fellowship, an individual must be a CMS member for the year in which he or she is nominated as well as for the prior year.

If not already a Fellow, the CMS President-elect is made a Fellow upon election.

Recipients of the following CMS awards shall automatically be invited to become Fellows: the David Borwein Distinguished Career Award and the Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service.

Recipients of the following CMS awards, who have also served the CMS as Vice-president or Chair of a CMS Committee (not including sub-committees) or as editors-in-chief of the CMS Bulletin or Journal, shall automatically be invited to become Fellows: the Adrien Pouliot Award, the Excellence in Teaching Award, the Jeffery-Williams Prize, the Krieger-Nelson Prize, and the Coxeter-James Prize.

Selection Process

The selection process is managed by the CMS Executive Director. New Fellows are selected each year by a Selection Committee (see below) after a nomination process. The procedures for nominating Fellows are made available on the CMS website.

The Selection Committee accepts nominations for Fellows between February 1 and March 31 each year. Any current member of the CMS not on the Selection Committee may make a nomination. Self-nominations are not permitted. A CMS member may nominate a maximum of two Fellows in a calendar year.


Click here for details about making or supporting a nomination for fellowship.

Important Dates:

  • Between February 1 and March 31: Nominations solicited for the next selection of CMS Fellows.
  • May 15: the Fellows Selection Committee determines selection of the new CMS Fellows.
  • In December: Recognition of new CMS Fellows to take place during the banquet at the CMS Winter Meeting.

Each year the CMS Executive Committee provides a guideline for the number of Fellows to be selected. The Selection Committee chooses Fellows by May 15, from the nominations, bearing in mind this guideline, diversity of every kind, and the quality and quantity of the nominations.

Those members who are chosen by the Selection Committee are invited by the CMS President to become new Fellows of the CMS. Any person who is nominated and is not selected a Fellow will remain an active nominee for a further two years.

Selection Committee

The Selection Committee will consist of five (non-Emeritus) Fellows who are current CMS members, each serving a two-year term, with at least two new members appointed each year. The CMS Executive Committee appoints the new members of the Selection Committee in November of each year. At the same time, they appoint a continuing member of the Selection Committee to serve as Chair.

Further Information

For more information on CMS Fellowship, please contact:

Dr. David Pike
CMS President