Adrien Pouliot Award

The Adrien Pouliot Award was inaugurated to recognize individuals or teams of individuals who have made significant and sustained contributions to mathematics education in Canada.

The first award was presented in 1995.

Nominations are currently closed.
Nominations for the Adrien Pouliot Award 2025 will be accepted beginning January 1.

The Adrien Pouliot Award is officially presented each year at the CMS Winter meeting.  The recipient presents a prize lecture at the meeting.

Prize Sculpture

Prize sculpture

The Adrien Pouliot Award is an etched blue glass award.

Selection Committee

The recipient is chosen by the Selection Committee for the Adrien Pouliot Award based on the strength of the nominations.

The Adrien Pouliot Award is named in honour of:

Adrien Pouliot
Adrien Pouliot

Adrien Pouliot (1896-1980) was the second president of the CMS from 1949-1953. In 1922 he was hired by Laval University to teach mathematics, and he remained there for 50 years. His career was characterized by a heavy teaching load, his sustained action at all levels in favour of mind-enhancing instruction methods, his continuous defence of mathematics and science in a society mostly oriented towards humanism and religion, and finally by his extraordinary effort to build Laval’s science and engineering faculty. He was a world-class ambassador for science and mathematics and a great educator.