Excellence in Teaching Award

The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes sustained and distinguished contributions in teaching at the post-secondary undergraduate level at a Canadian institution.

The first award was presented in 2004.

Nominations are currently welcomed for the 2024 Excellence in Teaching Award.

Deadline: November 15

The Excellence in Teaching Award is officially presented each year at the CMS Summer meeting. The recipient presents a prize lecture at the meeting.


Prize sculpture

The Excellence in Teaching Award consists of a gold etched blue glass award and a complimentary two-year membership with the CMS.


The CMS Excellence in Teaching Award focuses on the recipient’s proven excellence as a teacher at the undergraduate level as exemplified by unusual effectiveness in the classroom and/or commitment and dedication to teaching and to students. The nomination dossier should provide evidence of the effectiveness and impact of the nominee’s teaching. Selection criteria will include (but not be limited to):

  1. innovation in developing course materials (including methods of delivery, authored textbooks, online materials, journal articles on teaching);
  2. influence on students and other teachers.

Selection Committee

The recipient is chosen by the Selection Committee for the Teaching Award based on the strength of the nominations.