The Canadian Mathematical Society is a federally  registered charitable organization with its head office (Executive Office) located in Ottawa, Ontario.

The Society is under the leadership of a Board of Directors, chosen by its members through elections at Annual General Meetings or online. The Board operates under the corporate bylaws and  oversees the Executive Officers. As well, CMS members elect the members of the Executive Committee, led by a President.  The Executive Committee, in consultation with the Board, may establish standing committees who oversee various activities of the Society. Such committees (which include editorial boards for the research journals) may, from time to time, also establish lasting or ad-hoc subcommittees as deemed appropriate. Most committee members are members of the CMS who lend their expertise to help lead the Canadian mathematical community in a volunteer capacity. This usually is through coordinating and conducting discussions regarding decisions and actions, both in person and online, in accordance with our Terms of Reference.

The Executive Committee is responsible for hiring and overseeing the Executive Director who leads the Executive Office. The Executive Director overseas the staff and/or contractors to carry out the day-to-day activities of the Society and provides support to the committees and Board.  

If you would like to learn more about getting involved with the CMS, please consider these leadership opportunities.