Doctoral Prize

The CMS Doctoral Prize recognizes outstanding performance by a doctoral student who graduated from a Canadian university in the preceding year (January 1st to December 31st).

The first award was presented in 1997. 

Nominations are currently closed.
Nominations for the 2021 Doctoral Prize will be accepted beginning October 1.

Award presentation normally takes place at the CMS Winter Meeting and a prize lecture given by the recipient is customary.

The Prize

The Doctoral Prize consists of a framed certificate, an award of $500, a two-year membership with the CMS, and the opportunity to present a plenary lecture at a CMS meeting.


The Doctoral Prize recognizes outstanding performance by a doctoral student. The prize is awarded to one or two recipients of a Ph.D. from a Canadian university whose overall performance in graduate school is judged to be the most outstanding. Although the dissertation will be the most important criterion (the impact of the results, the creativity of the work, the quality of exposition, etc.) it will not be the only one. Other publications, activities in support of students and other accomplishments will also be considered.

Nominees must have their PhD conferred by a Canadian university in the year (January 1st to December 31st) preceding the nomination deadline.

Nominations that were not successful in the first competition, will be kept active for a second year (with no possibility of updating the file) and will be considered by the Doctoral Prize Selection Committee in the following year’s competition.

Selection Committee

The recipient of the Doctoral Prize, as well as the other Research awards, is chosen by the CMS Research Committee based on the strength of the nominations.