Cathleen Synge Morawetz Prize

The Cathleen Synge Morawetz Prize is awarded to an author (or authors) of an outstanding research publication. A series of closely related publications can be considered if they are clearly connected and focused on the same topic. At least one author of any nominated paper should be part of the Canadian Mathematical community. 

The Cathleen Synge Morawetz Prize will be awarded according to the following 6-year rotation of subject areas:

  1. Probability and Mathematical Physics (2024, and every six years thereafter),
  2. Algebra, Number theory, Algebraic geometry (2025, and every six years thereafter),
  3. Analysis and Dynamical systems (2026, and every six years thereafter).
  4. Geometry and Topology (2027, and every six years thereafter),
  5. Combinatorics, Discrete mathematics, Logic and foundations, and Mathematical Aspects of Computer Science (2028 , and every six years thereafter),
  6. Applied mathematics, including but not limited to Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing, Control Theory and Optimization, and Applications of Mathematics in Science and Technology (2029, and every six years thereafter),

All of the above fields will be understood most broadly, to ensure that any outstanding publication can be considered under at least one of the categories. A paper (or a series of papers) which has significantly impacted more than one of the listed fields can be nominated more than once in the six-year rotation.  The nomination must focus on a single topic, rather than a broad body of work by the nominee.

The first award was presented in 2021.

Nominations are currently welcomed for the 2025 Cathleen Synge Morawetz Prize.

Deadline: September 30


The recipient(s) will receive a commemorative plaque.

Selection Committee

The recipient(s) is chosen by the CMS Research Committee based on the strength and merit of the nominations.

The Cathleen Synge Morawetz Prize is named in honour of:

This prize was established in 2020 in honour of Cathleen Synge Morawetz (1923-2017), to reflect the remarkable breadth and influence of her research achievements in pure and applied mathematics. Professor Morawetz completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Toronto. She was encouraged to pursue a PhD in Mathematics by Cecilia Krieger (of Krieger-Nelson Prize). She went to MIT for a master’s degree, and then got her PhD at NYU, where she would spend the bulk of her career, becoming the director of Courant Institute in 1984. Her main research contributions were in the field of partial differential equations. Cathleen Synge Morawetz was a recipient of the Jeffery-Williams Prize in 1984 (the only woman to win the Prize up to date), the National Medal of Science (1998), the Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement (2004) and the George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics (2006).