Media Release – May 2, 2019
Canadian Mathematical Society

Dr. Mikhail Karpukhin Named Recipient of the 2019 CMS Doctoral Prize


OTTAWA — The Canadian Mathematical Society is pleased to announce that Dr. Mikhail Karpukhin (University of California at Irvine) has been named the recipient of the 2019 CMS Doctoral Prize. Dr. Karpukhin will receive his award and present a prize lecture at the CMS Winter Meeting in Toronto, Ontario, December 6-9, 2019.

Mikhail Karpukhin is an outstanding young mathematician working in the area of geometric spectral theory. His thesis consists of a series of striking results among which an isoperimetric inequality for the first Laplace eigenvalue on non-orientable surfaces extending celebrated results of Yang-Yau and Li-Yau from the 80’s, new upper bounds on the Steklov eingenvalues of a manifold – best known result to-date in the case of a surface of given genus and boundary components, and explicit upper bounds on all eigenvalues of the Dirichlet-Neumann map for differential forms on a manifold of arbitrary dimension. In addition, Karpukhin’s joint work with Nadirashvili, Penskoi and Polterovich provides a complete solution of the isoperimetric problem for the Laplace-Beltrami eigenvalues on the 2-dimensional sphere.

Working under the supervision of Dmitry Jakobson and Iosif Polterovich, Mikhail Karpukhin has completed his PhD at McGill University where he was supported by the prestigious Schulich and Tomlinson Scholarships. He was the author and co-author of several papers such as publications in Journal of Spectral Theory, Journal of Differential Geometry and International Mathematical Research Notices, Karpukhin has also been awarded the 2018 Carl Herz Prize of the Institut des sciences mathématiques that recognizes the best research result by a PhD student enrolled at a Quebec university.

Currently, Mikhail Karpukhin is completing a three-year Visiting Assistant Professorship at University of California at Irvine.

About the CMS Doctoral Prize

The Doctoral Prize recognizes outstanding performance by a doctoral student. The prize is awarded to one or two recipients of a Ph.D. from a Canadian university whose overall performance in graduate school is judged to be the most outstanding. Although the dissertation will be the most important criterion (the impact of the results, the creativity of the work, the quality of exposition, etc.) it will not be the only one. Other publications, activities in support of students and other accomplishments will also be considered.

For information about past recipients visit: Doctoral Prize

About the Canadian Mathematical Society

The CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics competitions that recognize outstanding student achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Termeh Kousha
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (613) 733-2662 ext. 713
or Prof. Kai Behrend (UBC)
Chair, Research Committee
Tel: (604) 822-1719