2019 Election Results

June 19, 2019


As a result of the 2019 CMS Election that took place in April and approved at the CMS Annual General Meeting that was held on June 9, 2019, the following fifteen (15) officers and directors have been elected to the CMS Board of Directors and Executive:

CMS Executive Committee:

  • President-Elect/President/Past-President: Javad Mashreghi (Laval);
  • Vice-President – Atlantic: Sara Faridi (Dalhousie);
  • Vice-President – Quebec: Matilde Lalin (Montreal);
  • Vice-President – Ontario: Monica Nevins (Ottawa);
  • Vice-President – West: Gerda de Vries (Alberta); and
  • Vice-President – Pacific: Malabika Pramanik (UBC).

CMS Board of Directors:

  • Director – Atlantic: Stephen Finbow (St. Francis-Xavier);
  • Director – Quebec: Christophe Hohlweg (UQAM);
  • Director – Quebec: Alina Stancu (Concordia);
  • Director – Ontario: Hans Boden (McMaster);
  • Director – Ontario: Megan Dewar (Carleton/Tutte Institute);
  • Director – West: Adam Clay (Manitoba);
  • Director – West: Sarah Plosker (Brandon);
  • Director – Pacific: Ailana Fraser (UBC); and
  • Director – Student: Pamela Brittain (Toronto).

The CMS would like to thank all members who voted in this election.

David Pike
Chair, Nominating Committee

April 29, 2019

Please note that the 2019 CMS Election is now closed. The results will be formally approved at the CMS Annual General Meeting (AGM) on June 9, 2019 in Regina. The results will be announced shortly after approval. Thank you to all those who participated in the 2019 CMS election.

David Pike
Chair, Nominating Committee

March 25, 2019


The CMS will be electing 15 officers and directors and the Nominating Committee wishes to announce the list of candidates for the 2019 elections.

CMS Executive Committee:

The following candidates have been nominated to the Executive Committee for two-year terms or four-year terms, except the President-Elect/President/Past-President, which is a combined four-year term:

CMS Board of Directors:

In addition to the candidates nominated to the Board as members of the Executive Committee, the following candidates have been nominated as directors:

Atlantic Region (1 vacancy for a four-year term)

Quebec Region (2 vacancies for four-year terms)

Ontario Region (2 vacancies for four-year terms)

West Region (2 vacancies for four-year terms)

Pacific Region (1 vacancy for a four-year term)

Student Director (1 vacancy for a two-year term)

For biographical information on each candidate, please click on the names above.

Your personalized election instructions will be emailed to you on Monday, April 1 and voting will be open for four (4) weeks until midnight, Friday, April 26. Election results will be reported and approved during the CMS Annual General Meeting being held on Saturday, June 8, from 12:00 -13:30 in Regina as part of the 2019 CMS Summer Meeting.

A list of current Board members with their respective terms is presented at:

Thank you.

David Pike
Chair, CMS Nominating Committee

January 24, 2019


This year the CMS will be electing fifteen (15) officers and directors. Candidates have to agree to the nomination and provide the committee with biographical information.

You are invited to nominate members to be candidates and their nominations will be accepted by the Nominating Committee prior to March 1, 2019 provided that each person nominated: (i) is supported in writing by at least five (5) other members of the CMS; and (ii) has given written acceptance to stand for office and to supply biographical information.

Nominations together with supporting materials should be e-mailed to or sent to:

Nominating Committee Chair
Canadian Mathematical Society
209 – 1725 St. Laurent Blvd.
Ottawa, ON   K1G 3V4

Nominations are being solicited for the following slate of candidates for the Executive Committee (length of elected term in parentheses):

  • President-Elect (1 year)/President (2 years)/Past-President (1 year);
  • Vice-President – Atlantic (N.B., P.E.I., N.S., N.L.) (2 years);
  • Vice-President – Quebec (4 years);
  • Vice- President – Ontario (4 years);
  • Vice-President – West (Alta., Sask., Man., N.W.T., Nunavut) (4 years); and
  • Vice-President – Pacific (B.C., Yukon) (2 years).

Nominations are also being solicited for Board of Directors members (length of elected term in parentheses):

  • Atlantic – 1 member (4 years);
  • Quebec – 2 members (4 years);
  • Ontario – 2 members (4 years);
  • West – 2 members (4 years);
  • Pacific – 1 member (4 years); and
  • Student – 1 member (2 years).

For 2019, the CMS will hold the election electronically in April and the results formally approved in June at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Regina, Saskatchewan. Updated information will be periodically e-mailed to members and posted on the CMS website at:

David Pike
Chair, CMS Nominating Committee