Ottawa – The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce that Tiina Hohn of MacEwan University (AB) is the recipient of the 2019 Adrien Pouliot Award in recognition of her outstanding contributions to mathematics education. The award will be presented at the 2019 CMS Winter Meeting in Toronto.

Tiina Hohn is a recently retired assistant professor from the MacEwan University in Edmonton, Alberta. Her love of teaching and passion for mathematics have been her principal drives since 1983. In addition to teaching undergraduate courses at MacEwan she has also been involved with many outreach activities in local schools. After graduating from the University of Jyvaskyla in Finland in 1981, Tiina Hohn moved to Canada and settled in Edmonton. She worked for a few years at the University of Alberta before moving to MacEwan.

The love of mathematics and the passion to reach out to students at all levels is apparent in every line of Tiina’s life. Comments from students and colleagues show the depth of her dedication to the well-being of her students and the community as a whole,” said Joseph Khoury, Chair of the CMS Education Committee, which adjudicates the Adrien Pouliot Award.

Tiina’s obvious love of the subject is contagious and helps her to reach students who would have otherwise given up on mathematics,” said David McLaughlin, Executive Director of Institutional Analysis and Planning and Associate Professor of Mathematics at MacEwan University. “Tiina has taught a thousand potential teachers and in doing so, has transmitted her love of the subject and provided a positive model for mathematics education,” added David McLaughlin.

Retirement has granted Tiina Hohn more time to play puzzles, and to continue her involvement with workshops in Edmonton or at BIRS. With her recent camping trip to Red Wood Forest in California, this summer, she could check one goal off her bucket list. The next item on her list is The Museum of Mathematics in New York.

About the Adrien Pouliot Award

The Adrien Pouliot Award was inaugurated to recognize individuals who have made significant and sustained contributions to mathematics education in Canada. The award, the first of which was presented in 1995, is named after the second president of the CMS, Adrien Pouliot. Pouliot was a Professor at Laval University and was described as a world-class ambassador for science and mathematics and a great educator.

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

Founded in 1945, the CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, publications, grants, math camps and national and international mathematics competitions, as well as awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Termeh Kousha
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (613) 733-2662
orDr. Joseph Khoury (Ottawa)
Chair, CMS Education Committee
Tel: (613) 562-5800 ext. 3487