Media Release – July 30, 2018
Canadian Mathematical Society

The CEMC Receives the 2018 Adrien Pouliot Award

OTTAWA — The Canadian Mathematical Society, (CMS) is pleased to announce that the Centre for Education in Mathematics and Computing (CEMC), is the recipient of the 2018 Adrien Pouliot Award. Professor Ian VanderBurgh will accept the award on behalf of the CEMC at the CMS Winter Meeting in Vancouver, BC, December 7-10, 2018 .

Based at the University of Waterloo, the CEMC is one of Canada’s largest outreach organizations in mathematics and computer science. The focus of the center is to increase interest, enjoyment, confidence, and ability in mathematics and computer science among learners and educators in Canada and internationally. Each year, the CEMC reaches hundreds of thousands through its contests and website, and tens of thousands through its face-to-face workshops.

According to Serge D’Alessio, Professor and former Associate Dean at the Faculty of Mathematics, “The CEMC is the organization best suited to continue to create the next generations of leaders in mathematics and computer science, to help to support the mathematical foundations crucial to the next generations of leaders in every other scientific discipline, and to give all Canadians a better appreciation for mathematics and computer science.”

Today, the CEMC’s team consists of approximately 40 people, including faculty and staff, as well as mid-career and retired teachers working on specific CEMC projects. The CEMC also works hand-in-hand with hundreds of volunteers who help create and mark mathematics contests, and review online materials, as well as other initiatives. The people that make up the CEMC’s team have driven the CEMC’s long-standing contributions to mathematics and computer science education, have worked to create and deliver the highest quality resources and activities, and have fostered strong relationships with teachers and students across Canada.

About the Adrien Pouliot Award

The Adrien Pouliot Award was inaugurated to recognize individuals who have made significant and sustained contributions to mathematics education in Canada. The first award was presented in 1995 and is named after the second president of the CMS, Adrien Pouliot. Pouliot was a Professor at Laval University and was described as a world-class ambassador for science and mathematics and a great educator.

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

Founded in 1945, the CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, publications, grants, math camps and national and international mathematics competitions, as well as awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Patricia Dack
Fundraising and Communications Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (613) 733-2662 ext. 728
or Joseph Khoury (Ottawa)
Chair, CMS Education Committee
Tel: (613) 562-5800 ext. 3487