Media Release – July 3, 2019
Canadian Mathematical Society

Prof Karl Dilcher to Receive the 2019 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service

OTTAWA, Ontario — The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce that Prof. Karl Dilcher (Dalhousie) has been named the recipient of the 2019 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service. Prof. Dilcher will receive his award at the CMS Winter meeting in Toronto, ON, December 6-9, 2019.

President and Chair of the CMS Distinguished Awards Selection Committee Prof. Mark Lewis (Alberta) states, “Karl Dilcher exemplifies mathematical service, both to the CMS and to the broader mathematical community. He has provided 25 years of dedicated service to a wide variety of committees and editorial boards for the Society.” His work with CMS publications has been longstanding, and has ranged from Co-Editor-in-Chief of the CMS Books in Mathematics Series, Contributing Editor of book reviews for the CMS Notes, and to selecting and coordinating with a publishing house partner for CMS journals. He has also served on the CMS Board of Directors as Vice-president and Director, among other CMS committees and activities.

His service is impressive and extends to other activities beyond the CMS. He served his University as Department Chair including serving in various panels, committees and ad-hoc committees over the years, and he maintains a thriving and productive research group at Dalhousie. He is also very instrumental to the operations of The Fibonacci Association and their journal, Fibonacci Quarterly.

Since 2016, Dilcher has devoted much of this personal time to finding good homes for mathematics books donated by retiring mathematicians (or just those who are clearing their bookshelves) by developing a special recycling program for reuse of mathematical books where the fairly substantial revenues are divided equally between the CMS and Dalhousie University’s Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

Prof. Karl Dilcher earned his doctorate at Queen’s University in 1983, became an Assistant Professor in 1987 at Dalhousie University where since 1999 he continues to teach as a Professor.

About the Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service

The Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service is presented annually to an individual who has made sustained and significant contributions to the Canadian mathematics community, particularly through their involvement with the CMS. This award is named in honour of Dr. Graham Wright (Ottawa) who served as the CMS Executive Director and Secretary from 1979 to 2009.

For information about past recipients visit: Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

Founded in 1945, the CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, publications, grants, math camps and national and international mathematics competitions, as well as awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Prof. Mark Lewis (Alberta)
President & Chair
CMS Distinguished Awards Selection Committee
Tel: 780-492-0197
or Dr. Termeh Kousha
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: 613-733-2262 ext. 713