Media Release – March 29, 2023
Canadian Mathematical Society


OTTAWA, Ontario – The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce Dr. Kumar Murty as recipient of the 2023 CMS Jeffery-Williams Prize for his contributions to mathematical research. Dr. Murty will receive his prize and give a lecture in Ottawa, Ontario at the 2023 CMS Summer meeting in June.

V. Kumar Murty received his doctorate from Harvard University in 1982 as a student of John Tate. In 1987, he was appointed Associate Professor at the University of Toronto, and in 1991 he was promoted to Full Professor. He was Chair of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Toronto during 2008-2013 and again from 2014-2017. He is currently the Director of the Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Science.

Dr. Murty’s colleague, Dr. George Elliott, FRSC says, “I am happy to see my colleague’s work in number theory and arithmetic geometry recognized with this prestigious award. He has made important contributions over many years, both scientifically, and in general to the discipline.” Professor Murty’s mathematical interests cover diverse areas including analytic number theory, algebraic number theory, information security, and arithmetic algebraic geometry.

His recent work has expanded to mathematical modelling in social, economic and health contexts. This includes his work on Smart Villages and on integrative modelling related to the COVID-19 pandemic. He has served on the Canadian Mathematical Society Board of Directors and held vice-presidency at the Canadian Mathematical Society. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1995, Fields Institute Fellow in 2003, Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences (India) in 2011, Senior Fellow of Massey College in 2020 and a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society in 2021. He received the Coxeter-James Prize in 1991, the Balaguer Prize (together with M. Ram Murty) in 1996, and the University of Toronto’s Inventor of the Year Award in 2011.

“I am touched and honoured to receive a prize named after two dedicated professionals, Jeffery and Williams, who did so much to promote the growth and development of mathematical research in Canada.” – V. Kumar Murty

Dr. Murty is a remarkable mathematician who has made many important contributions to mathematics across the globe. The CMS is delighted to award him with the 2023 Jeffery-Williams Prize.

About the Jeffery-Williams Prize

The Jeffery-Williams Prize was inaugurated to recognize mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions to mathematical research. The first award was presented in 1968 and is named after Ralph Jeffery and Lloyd Williams, who were two influential CMS Board members.

For more information, visit the Jeffery-Williams Prize page

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

The CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics competitions that recognize outstanding student achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Susan Cooper (uManitoba)
Chair, CMS Research Committee
Canadian Mathematical Society
or Dr. Termeh Kousha
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society