Media Release – July 24, 2018
Canadian Mathematical Society

Dr. Keith Taylor to receive the 2018 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service

OTTAWA, Ontario — The Canadian Mathematical Society is pleased to announce that Dr. Keith Taylor (Dalhousie) has been named the recipient of the 2018 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service. Dr. Taylor will receive his award at the CMS Winter meeting in Vancouver, BC December 7-10, 2018.

Praised by his colleagues as being an ‘excellent role model for a well-rounded mathematician’, Dr. Taylor’s career, spanning more than four decades, has truly exemplified what this award represents, not just because of his excellent record of research and mentorship, but also through his academic work as Associate Dean, Dean and Associate Vice President at two Universities and through years of fundamental service to the CMS, including a term as President (2012-2014). Indeed, just to list his CMS committee work and appointments takes a full page on his vitae!

Past Chair of the CMS Distinguished Awards Selection Committee Dr. Michael Bennett (UBC) asserts “Taylor`s real contribution to Canadian mathematics goes far beyond a few lines on his CV. It lies more in his continued striving for educational excellence, in award-winning teaching, and through remarkable and continuing commitment to outreach.”

Dr. Taylor`s later outreach work focusses on developing pathways to mathematical literacy for underrepresented groups in Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia, and consistently supporting and championing disadvantaged communities.

Among his many honours are the Master Teacher Award from the University of Saskatchewan in 2001 where he also championed the “The Math Readiness Project“ aimed at bridging the gap between high school and college/university mathematics, especially for students in remote areas. In 1996, Taylor was awarded the President’s Educational Site Award for the MRC web course at the University of Saskatchewan. The following year, Dr. Taylor received the Student Union Teaching Excellence Award.

Keith Taylor earned his doctorate at the University of Alberta in 1976 and is currently a Professor at Dalhousie University.

About the Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service

The Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service is presented annually to an individual who has made sustained and significant contributions to the Canadian mathematics community, particularly through their involvement with the CMS. This award is named in honour of Dr. Graham Wright (Ottawa) who served as the CMS Executive Director and Secretary from 1979 to 2009.

For information about past recipients visit: Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

Founded in 1945, the CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, publications, grants, math camps and national and international mathematics competitions, as well as awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Patricia Dack
Fundraising and Communications Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (613) 733-2662 ext. 728
or Prof. Michael Bennett (UBC)
Past Chair, CMS Distinguished Awards Selection Committee
Tel: (604) 822-2251