Media Release – March 7, 2019
Canadian Mathematical Society

Dr. Julia Gordon to receive the 2019 Krieger-Nelson Prize

OTTAWA – The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce that Dr. Julia Gordon (UBC) has been named the recipient of the 2019 Krieger-Nelson Prize for her exceptional contributions to mathematics research. Dr. Gordon will receive her award and present a prize lecture during the CMS Summer Meeting in Regina, Saskatchewan, June 7-10, 2019.

Dr. Julia Gordon works in representation theory of p-adic groups related to Langlands Program, and motivic integration. In many of her results, she applies model theory (specifically, motivic integration) to arithmetic questions. In rough terms, motivic integrations makes it possible to do integration on p-adic fields uniformly in p. With Raf Cluckers and Immanuel Halupczok, Gordon used this technique to prove uniform estimates on orbital integrals that have an application in the study of L-functions.

Julia Gordon earned her doctorate at the University of Michigan in 2003 under the supervision of Thomas Hales. She has been recognized by several appointments and awards including: Fields Institute Postdoctoral Fellow in 2003; University of Toronto Postdoctoral Fellow 2004-2006; NSERC Accelerator award 2015-2018; and the Michler Prize (AWM and Cornell University), 2017.

Currently, Dr. Gordon is an Associate Professor at the University of British Columbia, where she has been since 2006.

About the Krieger-Nelson Prize

The Krieger-Nelson Prize, jointly named for Cecilia Krieger and Evelyn Nelson was first awarded in 1995. It was inaugurated to recognize outstanding contributions in the area of mathematical research by a female mathematician.

For information about past recipients visit:

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

The CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics competitions that recognize outstanding student achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Prof. Kai Behrend (UBC)
Chair, CMS Research Committee
Canadian Mathematical Society
Or Patricia Dack
Fundraising and Communications Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
613-733-2662 ext. 728