The Canadian Mathematical Society is pleased to announce the Second Inaugural Class of Fellows consisting of 11 members from the Canadian mathematical community. The 2019 Class of Fellows will be recognized at the CMS Winter Meeting Banquet in Toronto on December 8, 2019.

CMS Second Inaugural Class of Fellows:

Louigi Addario-Berry (McGill)
James G. Arthur (Toronto)
Karl Dilcher (Dalhousie)
George A. Elliott (Toronto)
Joel Feldman (UBC)
Neal Madras (York)
Javad Mashreghi (Laval)
Ján Mináč (Western)
Monica Nevins (Ottawa)
Bruce L. R. Shawyer (retired)
Cameron L. Stewart (Waterloo)

About the CMS Fellows Program
The Fellows Program was instituted to recognize mathematicians who have made very significant contributions to the profession and to the Canadian Mathematical Society. Fellowship recognizes CMS members who have made excellent contributions to mathematical research, teaching, or exposition; as well as having distinguished themselves in service to Canada’s mathematical community.

Induction to the Second Inaugural Class of Fellows was based upon nominations or a recipient of a CMS prize or award for outstanding contributions for research, education, exposition and service to the Society.

For more information on the CMS Fellows Program, please click here.

About the Canadian Mathematical Society
Founded in 1945, the CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, publications, grants, math camps and national and international mathematics competitions, as well as awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

For more information on CMS, please visit


For more information, contact:

Dr. Termeh Kousha
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: 613-733-2662 ext. 713

Prof. Mark Lewis
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: 780-492-0197