Media Release – June 18, 2024
Canadian Mathematical Society


OTTAWA, Ontario – The Canadian Mathematical Society is pleased to announce the 2024 Class of Fellows consisting of four members from the Canadian mathematical community.

The Fellowship recognizes CMS members who have made excellent contributions to mathematical research, teaching, or exposition; as well as having distinguished themselves in service to Canada’s mathematical community.

Induction to the 2024 Class of Fellows was based upon nominations, reception of the David Borwein Distinguished Career Award or the Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service, or reception of any other CMS prize or award for outstanding contributions to research, education, exposition and service to the Society and having served the CMS as a Vice-President, a standing committee chair or Editor-in-Chief of the CMS’ Canadian Mathematical Bulletin or Canadian Journal of Mathematics.

The 2024 Class of Fellows will be recognized at the 2024 CMS Winter Meeting in December in the Greater Vancouver Area, British Columbia.

For more information on the CMS Fellows Program, please visit here.

CMS 2024 Class of Fellows:

Sue Ann Campbell (University of Waterloo)
Edward Doolittle (First Nations University of Canada)
Robert Jerrard (University of Toronto)
Yael Karshon (University of Toronto)

About the Canadian Mathematical Society
The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics competitions that recognize outstanding student achievements. The CMS is a registered non-profit, charitable organization and depends on grants, funding, and generous donations from sponsors, benefactors and community members to be able to carry out its activities.

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Javad Mashreghi
Chair, CMS Fellows Selection Committee


Dr. Barbara Csima
President of the CMS