Media Release – June 14, 2021
Canadian Mathematical Society

Canadian Mathematical Society’s 2021 Class of Fellows Announced

The Canadian Mathematical Society is pleased to announce the 2021 Class of Fellows consisting of 7 members from the Canadian mathematical community.

The Fellowship recognises CMS members who have made excellent contributions to mathematical research, teaching, or exposition; as well as having distinguished themselves in service to Canada’s mathematical community.

Induction to the 2021 Class of Fellows was based upon nominations, reception of the David Borwein Distinguished Career Award or the Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service, or reception of any other CMS prize or award for outstanding contributions for research, education, exposition and service to the Society and having served the CMS as a Vice-President, a standing committee chair or Editor-in-Chief of the CMS’ Canadian Mathematical Bulletin or Canadian Journal of Mathematics.

The 2021 Class of Fellows will be recognized at the CMS Winter Meeting in December 2021.

CMS 2021 Class of Fellows:

François Bergeron (UQAM)
Brian E. Forrest (Waterloo)
Kseniya Garaschuk (Fraser Valley)
Eyal Z. Goren (McGill)
Lisa C. Jeffrey (Toronto)
Veselin Jungic (Simon Fraser)
David A. Pike (Memorial)

For more information on the CMS Fellows Program, visit here.

About the Canadian Mathematical Society

Founded in 1945, the CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, publications, grants, math camps and national and international mathematics competitions, as well as awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

For more information please contact:

Dr.Termeh Kousha
Executive Director
or Prof. Javad Mashreghi