The Canadian Mathematical Society is pleased to announce the 2020 Class of Fellows consisting of 9 members from the Canadian mathematical community. The 2020 Class of Fellows will be recognized at the CMS Winter Meeting Banquet in Montreal on Sunday, December 6th, 2020.

CMS 2020 Class of Fellows:

Alejandro Adem
Kai Behrend
Henri Darmon
John Friedlander
Kathryn E. Hare
Claude Levesque
Robert J. McCann
James A. Mingo
Luc Vinet

About the CMS Fellows Program
The Fellowship recognises CMS members who have made excellent contributions to mathematical research, teaching, or exposition; as well as having distinguished themselves in service to Canada’s mathematical community.

Induction to the 2020 Class of Fellows was based upon nominations, reception of the Borwein Distinguished Career Award or the Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service, or reception of any other CMS prize or award for outstanding contributions for research, education, exposition and service to the Society and having served the CMS as a Vice-President, a standing committee chair or Editor-in-Chief of the CMS Bulletin or Journal.

For more information on the CMS Fellows Program, please click here.

About the Canadian Mathematical Society
Founded in 1945, the CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, publications, grants, math camps and national and international mathematics competitions, as well as awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

For more information on CMS, please visit


Dr. Javad Mashreghi
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (418) 656-2976



Dr. Termeh Kousha
Executive Director,
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel : (613) 733-2662