Media Release – June 6, 2019
Canadian Mathematical Society

2019 CMS G. de B. Robinson Award Recipients Announced

OTTAWA, ON — Lars Louder (University College London) and Henry Wilton (University of Cambridge) have been named the recipients of the Canadian Mathematical Society’s (CMS) 2019 G. de B. Robinson Award for their paper “Stackings and the W-cycles Conjecture” (Canadian Mathematical Bulletin Vol. 60(3), 2017 pp.604-612). The G. de B. Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (CJM) or the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin (CMB).

“Louder and Wilton’s paper utilized a beautiful, creative, elegant and original idea to prove the W-cycles conjecture (proposed in Daniel T. Wise’s paper: Bull. London Math. Soc. 37(2005),no.5, 697-705) on the number of lifts of a cycle in a free group along an immersion” said the CMB Editors-in-Chief Jie Xiao & Xiaoqiang Zhao. The selection committee, also chaired by the CMB Editors-in-Chief, noticed that “only this paper truly stood out from other papers nominated and so uniformly recommended this paper for the 2019 G. de B. Robinson Award.”

Henry Wilton is a Reader in Pure Mathematics at the University of Cambridge and a Fellow of Trinity College. He is a mathematician working in the fields of geometric group theory and low-dimensional topology. His interests include the subgroup structure of hyperbolic groups, questions of profinite rigidity, decision problems and properties of 3-manifold groups. After completing his PhD at Imperial College, London, he was R. H. Bing Instructor at the University of Texas, then Scott Russell Johnson Senior Research Fellow at Caltech. He was appointed Lecturer in Pure Mathematics at the University College London in 2011 and moved to Cambridge in 2014.

Lars Louder is an Associate Professor of Mathematics at University College London, working in geometric group theory and low-dimensional topology; mainly on free, limit, and one-relator groups. He received his BS in mathematics from the University of Utah in 2001, and stayed there for his PhD. He was later awarded an NSF postdoctoral fellowship, which he combined with positions of various durations at MSRI, Rutgers-Newark, and the University of Michigan. A year at the University of Oxford first brought him to the UK, where he later became Warwick Zeeman Lecturer. In 2013, he joined University College London as a Lecturer.

For more information about the award and past recipients, click here.

About the G. de B. Robinson Award

The G. de B. Robinson Award is named for Gilbert de Beauregard Robinson, the third president of the CMS. Robinson, along with H.S.M. Coxeter, established the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (CJM) and acted as the managing editor for 30 years. The award is given out to recognize the publication of excellent papers in the CJM or the CMB.

About the Canadian Mathematical Society

The CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics competitions that recognize outstanding student achievements.

For more information on CMS, please visit

For more information, please contact:

Prof. Javad Mashreghi (Laval)
Chair, CMS Publications Committee
or Dr. Termeh Kousha
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society
613-733-2662 ext. 713