Media Release – February 7, 2022
Canadian Mathematical Society

Dr. Matilde Lalín to Receive the 2022 Krieger-Nelson Prize

OTTAWA, ON – The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is delighted to announce Dr. Matilde Lalín (Université de Montréal) as the recipient of the 2022 Krieger-Nelson Prize for her outstanding contributions to research in Number Theory and related areas.

Matilde Lalín received her PhD from the University of Texas at Austin, where she was a Harrington Fellow. She was also a member at the Institute for Advanced Study, a Clay Liftoff Fellow, a PIMS postdoctoral fellow at the University of British Columbia, and an Assistant Professor at the University of Alberta. Matilde is currently a professor at the Université de Montréal and a member of the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM).

Dr. Lalín has held visiting positions at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, the Institute des hautes études scientifiques, and the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics. She has been a member of many renowned scientific committees. What’s more, she served as the chair for the 2019-2020 Pure Mathematics stream of the NSERC Discovery Grant Mathematics and Statistics Evaluation Group. In 2019, Matilde was elected the Vice-President (Quebec) of the Canadian Mathematical Society. Dr. Lalín has been on the board of directors of BIRS since 2019 and is a member of five editorial boards. She is also involved with several national and international committees whose aim is to encourage the participation of women and other minorities in mathematics.

Matilde’s main research interests are Number Theory and related areas, and her work focusses on L-functions. She has been studying relations between special values of L-functions and Mahler measure, a height that can be defined on polynomials, and contributing to the understanding of very general statements such as the Beilinson conjectures. She is known for her use of innovative techniques that allow proof of identities between multi-variable Mahler measures using regulators and higher Bloch groups. Matilde is also interested in distribution questions around families of L-functions and their behaviour at central points. It is worth noting that she was involved (with David and Florea) in the proof of a positive proportion of non-vanishing for cubic L-functions.

Matilde Lalín is an indispensable member of the mathematical community who has written over 50 articles, worked with nearly 50 coauthors, and given more than 130 invited lectures worldwide. She has also supervised the research of more than 50 undergraduates, graduate students, and postdoctoral fellows. The CMS is proud to award her the 2022 Krieger-Nelson Prize.

About the Krieger-Nelson Prize
The Krieger-Nelson Prize, jointly named for Cecilia Krieger and Evelyn Nelson was first awarded in 1995. It was inaugurated to recognize outstanding contributions in the area of mathematical research by a female mathematician.
For information about past recipients visit the Krieger-Nelson Prize page.

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)
The CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics competitions that recognize outstanding student achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Prof. Sara Faridi (Dalhousie)
Chair, CMS Research Committee
Canadian Mathematical Society
or Prof. Javad Mashreghi (Laval)
Canadian Mathematical Society