Media Release – May 8, 2024
Canadian Mathematical Society



OTTAWA, ON – The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce Dr. Michiya Mori (The University of Tokyo) & Dr. Peter Šemrl (University of Ljubljana), as well as Dr. David E. V. Rose & Dr. Logan Tatham (both University of North Carolina) as the joint recipients of the 2024 CMS G. de B. Robinson Award. This award was inaugurated to recognize the publication of excellent papers in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (CJM) and the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin (CMB) and to encourage the submission of the highest quality papers to these journals.

Dr. Mori and Dr. Šemrl are receiving this award for their paper “Loewner’s theorem for maps on operator domains” published in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (75:3 [2023], pp 912–944).

This paper presents a significant advancement in understanding the structure of local order isomorphisms in operator theory, particularly through its novel variation of Loewner’s theorem. By considering variations of Loewner’s classic results in the case of operator domains, specifically characterizing local order isomorphisms as restrictions of biholomorphic automorphisms within the generalized upper half-plane, this work offers a fascinating perspective on the interaction between operator theory and complex analysis. The theorems formulated, especially Theorem 1.1, adapt them to a modern framework that could significantly influence future research in mathematical physics and quantum theory. This paper’s ability to bridge these foundational concepts illustrates its originality and timely contribution to the field.

Dr. Michiya Mori is a Japanese mathematician. His research area is around operator algebra and operator theory. His research interest mainly lies in the metric structure and the order structure of operators acting on a complex Hilbert space. He completed his PhD at the University of Tokyo in 2021 under the supervision of Yasuyuki Kawahigashi. He was a special postdoctoral researcher at RIKEN iTHEMS from 2021 to 2022. He is currently a project assistant professor at the University of Tokyo and a visiting scientist at RIKEN iTHEMS, where he has been employed since 2022.

Dr. Peter Šemrl is a Slovenian mathematician. He graduated from the University of Ljubljana in 1988. He is currently a Professor at the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana, and the Director of the Institute of Mathematics, Physics, and Mechanics. His main research areas are linear algebra and operator theory, and his recent focus is on their connections with geometry and mathematical physics. He was the President of the International Linear Algebra Society from 2014 to 2020 and is one of the three Editors-in-Chief of Linear Algebra and Its Applications.

Dr. Rose and Dr. Tatham are receiving this award for their paper “On webs in quantum type C” published in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (74:3 [2022], pp 793–832).

The paper, which combines elements of representation theory, category theory, and low-dimensional topology, seeks to give a diagrammatic presentation of the representation category of the quantized enveloping algebra associated to the symplectic group of rank 3.  The authors define a full, essentially surjective functor from their diagrammatic web category to the representation category and conjecture that this functor is also full.  The work leads to a new approach to the associated quantum link invariant, similar to the Kauffman bracket description of the Jones polynomial.

Dr. David E. V. Rose earned his BS from the College of William and Mary in 2006 and the CASM from Christ’s College, University of Cambridge in 2007. In 2012, he completed his PhD at Duke University under the supervision of Lenny Ng. Following a postdoctoral position as Busemann Assistant Professor at the University of Southern California, he is currently an Associate Professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. His research interests include homological invariants of knots and links, the representation theory of quantum groups, and TQFT. Outside of maths, he enjoys climbing, cooking, and chasing his 14-month-old son Archer around the house.

Dr. Logan Tatham graduated from Brigham Young University in 2015 and received his PhD in math at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2020 under the supervision of Dr. David Rose. During his time in graduate school, Logan studied the category of Type C quantum group representations and their associated link invariants. Dr. Tatham is now a mathematician at the US Department of Defense.

The CMS is proud to present the 2024 G. de B. Robinson Award to Dr. Mori, Dr. Šemrl, Dr. Rose and Dr. Tatham, to whom it sends its warmest congratulations.

About the G. de B. Robinson Award
The G. de B. Robinson Award is named for Gilbert de Beauregard Robinson, the third president of the CMS. Robinson, along with H.S.M. Coxeter, established the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (CJM) and acted as the managing editor for 30 years. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the CJM or the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin (CMB).

About the Canadian Mathematical Society
The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics.  The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics competitions that recognize outstanding student achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Termeh Kousha
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society
or Dr. Patrick Ingram (York)
Chair, Publications Committee
Canadian Mathematical Society