Media Release – June 19, 2019
Canadian Mathematical Society

CMS 2019 Election Results


As a result of the 2019 CMS Election that took place in April and approved at the CMS Annual General Meeting that was held on June 9, 2019, the following fifteen (15) officers and directors have been elected to the CMS Board of Directors and Executive:

CMS Executive Committee:

President-Elect/President/Past-President: Javad Mashreghi (Laval);
Vice-President – Atlantic: Sara Faridi (Dalhousie);
Vice-President – Quebec: Matilde Lalin (Montreal);
Vice-President – Ontario: Monica Nevins (Ottawa);
Vice-President – West: Gerda de Vries (Alberta); and
Vice-President – Pacific: Malabika Pramanik (UBC).

CMS Board of Directors:

Director – Atlantic: Stephen Finbow (St. Francis-Xavier);
Director – Quebec: Christophe Hohlweg (UQAM);
Director – Quebec: Alina Stancu (Concordia);
Director – Ontario: Hans Boden (McMaster);
Director – Ontario: Megan Dewar (Carleton/Tutte Institute);
Director – West: Adam Clay (Manitoba);
Director – West: Sarah Plosker (Brandon);
Director – Pacific: Ailana Fraser (UBC); and
Director – Student: Pamela Brittain (Toronto).

The CMS would like to thank all members who voted in this election.

David Pike
Chair, Nominating Committee