Media Release – June 13, 2023
Canadian Mathematical Society


OTTAWA, Ontario – The Canadian Mathematical Society is pleased to announce the 2023 Class of Fellows consisting of 7 members from the Canadian mathematical community.

The Fellowship recognizes CMS members who have made excellent contributions to mathematical research, teaching, or exposition; as well as having distinguished themselves in service to Canada’s mathematical community.

Induction to the 2023 Class of Fellows was based upon nominations, reception of the David Borwein Distinguished Career Award or the Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service, or reception of any other CMS prize or award for outstanding contributions to research, education, exposition and service to the Society and having served the CMS as a Vice-President, a standing committee chair or Editor-in-Chief of the CMS’ Canadian Mathematical Bulletin or Canadian Journal of Mathematics.

The 2023 Class of Fellows will be recognized at the CMS Winter Meeting in December 2023.

For more information on the CMS Fellows Program, visit here.

CMS 2023 Class of Fellows:

Elena Braverman (University of Calgary)
Barbara Csima (Waterloo)
Niky Kamran (McGill)
Henry Kim (University of Toronto)
Hershy Kisilevsky (Concordia)
Nilima Nigam (SFU)
Dorette Pronk (Dalhousie)

About the Canadian Mathematical Society

Founded in 1945, the CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including scientific meetings, publications, grants, math camps and national and international mathematics competitions, as well as awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Javad Mashreghi
Chair, CMS Fellows Selection Committee
or Dr. David Pike
President of the CMS