Canadian Mathematical Society
  location:  About Usmedia releases
About Us        
MEDIA RELEASE — June 8, 2018

Canadian Mathematical Society

June 8, 2018

Professor Patrick Ingram and Dr. Anastasia Stavrova to receive the 2018 G. de. B. Robinson Award

Patrick Ingram (York University)

OTTAWA, Ontario — The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce two recipients of the 2018 G. de B. Robin Award - Professor Patrick Ingram and Dr. Anastasia Stavrova. The G. de B. Award is given out to recognize outstanding contributions to the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (CJM) or the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin (CMB).

The G. de B. Robinson is usually given to one outstanding paper in CJM and CMB. In special circumstances, the committee can offer more awards (up to 3 per year). This year, the selection committee had several outstanding papers to assess and eventually decided to offer two awards. The awards are given without any priority or ordering.

Professor Ingram is being recognized for his paper “Rigidity and height bounds for certain post-critically finite endomorphisms of PN” (Canad. J. Math. 68 (2016), no. 3, 625-654).

The high relevance of Ingram’s paper comes from being the first published work describing the arithmetic of post-critically finite self-maps for higher dimensional spaces. This paper opens new avenues for research, due to the importance of the dynamical behaviour of the critical locus for endomorphisms of PN. For example, the role post-critically finite rational functions play within the appropriate moduli space of dynamical systems is similar to that played by the CM points on the affine j-line for elliptic curves.

In 2006 Ingram completed his PhD at University of British Columbia under the supervision of Michael Bennett. After being an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Toronto (2006-2008) and a Brookfield Research Professor at the University of Waterloo (2008-2011), Ingram became an Assistant Professor at Colorado State University. In 2016 Patrick returned to Canada, where he is currently an Assistant Professor at York University.


Anastasia Stavrova (St. Petersburg State University)

Dr. Anastasia Stavrova is being recognized for her paper paper “Non-stable K1-functors for Multiloop Groups” (Canad. J. Math. 68 (2016), no. 1, 150-178).

Dr. Stavrova’s paper is a fundamental contribution to group theory and Lie theory, which provides a deep understanding of the automorphism groups of multiloop Lie algebras in higher nullity. Stavrova invented a striking technique of doubling of variables, which should have further applications in the theory of loop group schemes, which in particular applies to extended affine Lie algebras.

Dr. Stavrova received her doctorate from St Petersburg State University in 2009, under the supervision of Nikolai Vavilov, and the same year was awarded the “Young Mathematician” prize of St. Petersburg Mathematical Society. In 2010-2012 she worked as a researcher at the Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich and at the Duisburg-Essen University. In 2013, Stavrova held a J.E. Marsden Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Fields Institute, and in 2016, she won the “Young Russian Mathematics” scholarship from the Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology and the Independent University of Moscow. At present, Anastasia is a senior researcher at the P.L. Chebyshev Laboratory at St. Petersburg State University. Her main research interests are algebraic groups, algebraic K-theory and non-commutative algebra.

About the G. de B. Robinson Award

The G. de B. Robinson Award is named for Gilbert de Beauregard Robinson, the third president of the CMS. Robinson, along with H.S.M. Coxeter, established the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (CJM) and acted as the managing editor for 30 years. The award is given out to recognize outstanding contributions to the CJM or the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin (CMB).

For information about past recipients visit: G. de B. Robinson Award

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

The CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The Society’s activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics competitions that recognize outstanding student achievements.

For more information, please contact:

Patricia Dack
Fundraising and Communications Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (613) 733-2662 ext. 728
or Prof. Javad Mashreghi (Laval)
Chair, CMS Publications Committee
Tel: (418) 656-2976

© Canadian Mathematical Society, 2019 :