Canadian Mathematical Society
  location:  About Usmedia releases
About Us        
MEDIA RELEASE — April 13, 2015

Canadian Mathematical Society

April 13, 2015

2015 Jeffery-Williams Prize winner Alejandro Adem sees the beauty in mathematics

Alejandro Adem (University of British Columbia)
Photo courtesy of Mitacs Inc.

OTTAWA — Alejandro Adem (University of British Columbia), one of the world’s leading experts in group cohomology and the geometry of group actions, is the recipient of the 2015 CMS Jeffery-Williams Prize.

“Alejandro has played a seminal role in the Canadian mathematical scene, both as a valuable mathematician building the next generation of youngsters in his subject area, and as a visionary and efficient institution builder," said R. Sujatha and Leah Edelstein-Keshet in their nomination letter for Adem.

Alejandro is fascinated by the deep mathematics and beauty associated to symmetry groups, which manifest themselves both in nature and across a variety of scientific disciplines. He has supervised numerous students and postdocs, including 20 at the PhD level and has delivered over 300 lectures around the world.

Since 2005 Alejandro has worked as a professor of mathematics and Canada Research Chair at the University of British Columbia. He was Director of the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) from 2008 to 2015 and was appointed as CEO and Scientific Director of Mitacs in 2015. He is managing editor of the Memoirs and the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

Alejandro has been recognized with multiple awards including the Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (2012), Canada Research Chair in Algebraic Topology at UBC (2004), the Vilas Associate Award, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2003) and the Romnes Faculty Fellowship, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (1995), among others.

Alejandro completed his undergraduate studies at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), earning a B.Sc. in 1982. He earned his PhD in 1986 from Princeton University, under the supervision of William Browder. He worked as a Szegö Assistant Professor at Stanford University (1986-89) before joining the faculty at the University of Wisconsin–Madison, where he remained until 2004. He has held visiting positions at the Institute for Advanced Study, the ETH-Zürich, the Max-Planck Institute in Bonn and Princeton University.

About the Jeffery-Williams Prize

The Jeffery-Williams Prize was inaugurated to recognize mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions to mathematical research. The first award was presented in 1968 and is named after Ralph Jeffery and Lloyd Williams, who were two influential CMS board members.

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

Founded in 1945, the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) promotes the advancement, discovery, learning and application of mathematics. The CMS promotes mathematics through a rich array of activities including: scientific meetings; publications; awards; prizes; grants; camps and competitions. As the national math association, the CMS represents Canada internationally to other societies as well as organizations such as the International Mathematical Union (IMU).

For more information, please contact:

Julie Bortolotti
Communications and Special Projects Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
613-733-2662 ext. 728
or Stephen Kudla (Toronto)
Chair, CMS Research Committee

© Canadian Mathematical Society, 2019 :