Canadian Mathematical Society
  location:  About Usmedia releases
About Us        
MEDIA RELEASE — September 30, 2013

Canadian Mathematical Society

September 30, 2013


Edward Campbell to receive CMS 2013 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service

Edward Alexander (Eddy) Campbell

OTTAWA, Ontario — The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce that Harold Edward Alexander (Eddy) Campbell (University of New Brunswick) is the recipient of the 2013 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service.

The Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service is awarded annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the Canadian mathematical community, particularly through their involvement with the Canadian Mathematical Society. This award is named in honour of Dr. Graham Wright (University of Ottawa) who served as the CMS Executive Director and Secretary for over 30 years.

"Eddy Campbell's contributions to the Canadian mathematical community have been transformational,” said Keith Taylor (Dalhousie), CMS President. "Over many years of dedicated service Eddy has served in numerous roles, giving generously of himself to help advance mathematics across the academic, public, and community sectors. Everyone in our community, and especially the CMS, has benefited from his service and contribution and we are all the better for it."

Campbell’s contributions to the CMS began in 1989 when he was appointed to the CMS Board of Directors for a four year term. From this point forward, Eddy has been an integral part of CMS operations and, over the years, has helped to shape the society as a whole. He served on the Finance Committee (Chair,1993-95), the Electronic Services Committee, the Advisory Panel on Testing, the Education Committee, the Endowment Fund Task Force, the Nominating Committee (Chair, 1998), an ad hoc Committee to Review the Executive Office, and the Advancement of Mathematics Committee. Campbell also served as the CMS President from 2004-06.

Campbell’s contributions to the mathematical community extend well beyond the boundaries of the CMS. From 2008-11, Eddy provided a leadership role for the Mathematics of Information Technology and Complex Systems (MITACS), serving on their Board of Directors. He continues on the Board of MPrime, the successor of MITACS. The Canadian scientific community benefits from a variety of critical contributions Eddy has made to NSERC, starting with his chairing the Mathematics Steering Committee for the Reallocations exercise (1996-97).

Campbell holds two mathematics degrees from Memorial University and a PhD from the University of Toronto. He completed his post-doctoral work at the University of Western Ontario and in 1983 joined the mathematics department at Queen’s University. He currently holds a position as the President of the University of New Brunswick, and lives in Fredericton, NB with his wife Diane and daughter Maggie. Campbell also has three grown sons, Ian, Colin and Graham.

For more information, contact:

Jessica St-James
Communications and Special Projects Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
(613) 733-2662 ext. 728

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

The CMS is the national mathematics organization whose goal is to promote the advancement, discovery, learning, and application of mathematics. The Society's activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics education at all levels. The CMS annually sponsors mathematics awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

© Canadian Mathematical Society, 2019 :