Canadian Mathematical Society
  location:  About Usmedia releases
About Us        
MEDIA RELEASE — October 24, 2012

Canadian Mathematical Society

October 24, 2012


Teodor Banica, Serban Belinschi, Mireille Capitaine and Benoît Collins to Receive 2012 G. de B. Robinson Award

OTTAWA, Ontario — The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce Teodor Banica, Serban Belinschi, Mireille Capitaine and Benoît Collins as the winners of the 2012 G. de B. Robinson Award, for their paper titled ”Free Bessel Laws” which appeared in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (63:1 2011, 3-37;

The G. de B. Robinson Award is named for Gilbert Robinson, the third president of the CMS. Robertson, along with H.S.M. Coxeter established the CJM and acted as the managing editor for 30 years. The G. de B. Robinson Award is given out to recognize outstanding contributions to the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (CJM) or the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin (CMB).

In their paper, the four co-authors discuss the definition, properties, analytic aspects and combinatorial aspects of a new two-parameter family of real probability measures known as free Bessel laws. This paper has received attention from free probability and quantum groups communities as it introduces new examples of a compact group which inspires future research.

Teodor Banica was born and raised in Bucharest and completed his PhD at the University Paris 7 under the supervision of Georges Skandalis. Banica has been a full time professor at the Universities of Toulouse since 2004. His interests include a variety of topics from algebra and geometry to quantum groups and probability theory.

Serban Belinschi completed his PhD studies at the Indiana University under the supervision of Hari Bercovici. Belinschi is currently an assistant professor at Queen’s University. His research deals with aspects of non-commutative probability, random matrices and operator algebras.

Mireille Capitaine completed her PhD under the supervision of Michel Ledoux at the University Paul Sabatier. Since 1998, Capitaine has been a researcher at the Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS). Capitaine’s research is in free probability theory and random matrices.

Benoît Collins completed his PhD at Paris 6 under the supervision of Philippe Biane and was a postdoctoral fellow at the Department of Mathematics of the Kyoto University. Collins is currently an associate professor at the University of Ottawa.

For more information, please contact:

Henry Kim and Robert McCann
Canadian Journal of Mathematics
or Jessica St-James
Communications and Special Projects Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
(613) 722-2662 ext. 728

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

The CMS is the main national organization whose goal is to promote and advance the discovery, learning, and application of mathematics. The Society's activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics education at all levels. The CMS annually sponsors mathematics awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

© Canadian Mathematical Society, 2019 :