Canadian Mathematical Society
  location:  About Usmedia releases
About Us        
MEDIA RELEASE — Mar 10, 2011

Canadian Mathematical Society

Mar 10, 2011


Yvan Saint-Aubin to Receive the 2011 CMS Excellence in Teaching Award

Yvan Saint-Aubin

OTTAWA, Ontario — The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce that Prof. Yvan Saint-Aubin (Université de Montréal) is the recipient of the 2011 Excellence in Teaching Award.

The CMS Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes sustained and distinguished contributions in mathematics teaching at the undergraduate level at a Canadian post-secondary education institution. Nelson Education is a proud sponsor of the award.

“Yvan has distinguished himself by his outstanding teaching skills and attentiveness towards students as well as by playing a pivotal role in his department’s efforts to refresh and modernize its programs,” said Jacques Hurtubise, CMS President. “He is a credit to mathematics education and a truly deserving recipient of this award.”

Prof. Saint-Aubin explores his course material with great depth, linking the concepts he teaches to other course modules as well as separate courses. He is known for the clarity of his explanations and the efforts he makes to ensure every student understands the material.

“Yvan Saint-Aubin demands a lot from his students; his courses involve plenty of work – and his students thank him for it,” said Peter Taylor, Chair of the CMS Education Committee. “They praise him for his humour and enthusiasm as well as the fact that he tries to learn the name of every student in his classes.”

Throughout his career Prof. Saint-Aubin has championed an innovative vision of teaching. He has redesigned several courses in his department, including linear algebra, differential geometry and Fourier analysis. He has also created original courses, including a symbolic manipulations course that was one of the first of its kind, and, with Prof. Christiane Rousseau, a course in mathematics and technology for future high-school teachers that is now cited and emulated around the world. Their book Mathematics and Technology has received multiple honours and launched the Springer Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics and Technology (SUMAT) series.

Yvan Saint-Aubin earned his Ph.D. in Physics from the Université de Montréal in 1982. After postdoctoral work at MIT, he became professor at the Université de Montréal in 1984. He has served as deputy director of CRM (1995-1999), chair of his department (2001 to 2005) and vice-president of the CMS (2007-2009). Currently, he is chair of the CMS Finance Committee and is a sought-after public lecturer, speaking extensively in CEGEPS across Quebec.

Prof. Saint-Aubin will receive his award and deliver a prize lecture at the 2011 CMS Summer Meeting in Edmonton, Alberta.

For more information, contact:

Dr. Peter Taylor, Chair
CMS Education Committee
Dept. of Mathematics and Statistics
Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario
(613) 533-2390
or Laura Alyea
Communications and Special Projects Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
(613) 733-2662 ext. 728

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

The CMS is the national mathematics organization whose goal is to promote the advancement, discovery, learning, and application of mathematics. The Society's activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics education at all levels. The CMS annually sponsors mathematics awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.

© Canadian Mathematical Society, 2019 :