2017 CMS Winter Meeting

Waterloo, December 8 - 11, 2017


Scientific Sessions

By invitation of the Meeting Committee, there will be sessions in the following areas. The list of speakers is preliminary, and participants interested in delivering a talk in one of the sessions should contact one of the organizers of that session. All scientific sessions will take place at the University of Waterloo.

Algebraic Graph Theory
Org: Chris Godsil (University of Waterloo)
Analytic Number Theory
Org: Kevin Hare, Wentang Kuo and Yu-Ru Liu (University of Waterloo)
Application of Mathematics to Medicine and Biology
Org: Sivabal Sivaloganathan (University of Waterloo)
Applications of Combinatorial Topology in Commutative Algebra
Org: Sara Faridi (Dalhousie University) and Adam Van Tuyl (McMaster University)
Arithmetic Dynamics
Org: Jason Bell (University of Waterloo) and Patrick Ingram (York University)
Contributed Papers
Cyclic Homology and Noncommutative Geometry
Org: Masoud Khalkhali (Western University) and Ilya Shapiro (University of Windsor)
Design Theory
Org: Hadi Kharaghani (University of Lethbridge) and Doug Stinson (University of Waterloo)
Dynamical Systems
Org: Sue Ann Campbell and Xinzhi Liu (University of Waterloo)
Dynamics of Microbial Systems
Org: Gail Wolkowicz (McMaster University)
Environmental and Geophysical Fluid Dynamics
Org: Kevin Lamb, Francis Poulin and Marek Stastna (University of Waterloo)
Explicit Finiteness of Integral Points on Hyperbolic Curves
Org: David McKinnon and Jerry Wang (University of Waterloo)
Financial Mathematics
Org: Adam Metzler (Wilfrid Laurier Univeristy) and Traian Pirvu (McMaster Univeristy)
Geometric Analysis
Org: Benoit Charbonneau and Spiro Karigiannis (University of Waterloo)
History of Mathematics
Org: Maritza M. Branker (Niagara University)
Logic and Operator Algebras
Org: Ilijas Farah (York University) and Marcin Sabok (McGill University)
Low Dimensional Topology and Geometric Group Theory
Org: Adam Clay (University of Manitoba) and Tyrone Ghaswala (University of Waterloo)
Mathematical Aspects of Quantum Information
Org: David Kribs, Rajesh Pereira and Bei Zeng (University of Guelph)
Model Theory
Org: Rahim Moosa (University of Waterloo) and Sergei Starchenko (University of Notre Dame)
Operator Algebras
Org: Matthew Kennedy (University of Waterloo) and Paul Skoufranis (York University)
Symmetric Functions and Generalizations
Org: Angele Hamel (Wilfrid Laurier University) and Stephanie van Willigenburg (University of British Columbia)
Toric Geometry
Org: Matthew Satriano (University of Waterloo) and Greg Smith (Queen's Univeristy)
Using Digital Assets in Mathematics Education and Outreach
Org: Barbara Forrest (Univeristy of Waterloo) and Brian Forrest (University of Waterloo)
Variational Analysis and Monotone Operator Theory
Org: Heinz Bauschke and Xianfu Wang (University of British Columbia Kelowna)


Centre de recherches mathématiques Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences Fields Institute AARMS: Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences University of Waterloo

© Canadian Mathematical Society : http://www.cms.math.ca/