Canadian Mathematical Society
Canadian Mathematical Society

Canadian Mathematical Olympiad

The CMO is sponsored by
Sun Life Financial

The Canadian Mathematical Olympiad (CMO) is Canada's premier national advanced mathematics competition. Candidates require an invitation from the Canadian Mathematical Society in order to participate.

CMO 2016
Official Results:

Congratulations to 2016 CMO Champion Kai Sun of AB Lucas Secondary School in London, Ontario who has earned this year's Canadian Mathematical Olympiad Cup and $2,000 cash!

Canadian Division
Place Competitor(s) Prize
1st Kai Sun, AB Lucas S.S., London, ON. $ 2000 and the CMO Cup
2nd Tie: Jinhao Xu, University Hill S.S., Vancouver, BC;
   & William Zhao, Richmond Hill H.S., Richmond Hill, ON.
$ 1250 each
3rd No 3rd place due to tie in 2nd.
(listed alphabetically)
Qinyu Cui, Collège Jean de la Mennais, La Prairie, QC;
Thomas Guo, Olympiads School, North York, ON;
Kevin Hu, Mulgrave School, West Vancouver, BC;
Ben Wei, Waterloo C.I., Waterloo, ON;
Yue Weng, Unionville H.S., Unionville, ON;
Rui Zhou Yang, University Hill S.S., Vancouver, BC.
$ 500 each
International Division
Top Competitors
(listed alphabetically)
Daniel Guo (USA)
Caleb Ji (USA)
Qi Qi (USA)
Kevin Sun (USA)
Nicholas Sun (USA)
Kai Zhe Zheng (USA)
  • Download and try the 2016 questions
  • View the draft solutions (official solutions will be posted here later this spring).
  • Read our press release
  • The top score this year was 22/35, the median score was 9/35.
  • Competitors can look up their own scores by giving their ID number here:
CMO 2017

The Canadian Mathematical Olympiad 2017 will be held on 29 March, 2017.



Candidates require an invitation from the Canadian Mathematical Society in order to participate:

  1. The Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge (COMC) is the main qualifier for the CMO. Normally, the top 50 qualifying students from the COMC receive a direct invitation to write the CMO.
  2. Approximately the top 15-20 competitors from the CMO Qualifying Repêchage (CMOQR) earn invitations to the CMO.
  3. Normally, the top 3 students from the Alberta High School Mathematics Competition (Part II) and le Concours de l'Association Mathématique du Québec are invited to write the CMO.


In order to be eligible to write the CMO and receive prizes, the student:

  • must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada who is in full-time attendance at an elementary or secondary school, or CEGEP since September of the year prior to the CMO;
  • be less than 20 years old as of June 30 of the year of the CMO; and
  • must not have written the Putnam Competition.

Students who choose to write the CMO agree to allow the CMS to publish their names and schools when announcing contest results.

Results and Prizes

[New for 2016]:

Official results are posted in two divisions: (1) students competing within Canada (the Canadian division) and (2) students competing abroad (the International division). Actual scores are not displayed publicly but students will be informed of their own scores.

The Championship title, the Cup and the prize money are only awarded to students in the Canadian division.

Prizes (Canadian division only): If there are no ties, the First Prize winner in the Canadian Mathematical Olympiad receives the CMO Cup and $2000. In addition, the Second Prize winner receives $1500, the Third Prize winner receives $1000 and students earning an Honourable Mention (up to six students) receive $500 each. In the case of ties, prizes are pooled upwards.

Preparing for the CMO

It is important to emphasize that any student who is invited to write the CMO should be aware that success will require mathematics at a higher level than is taught in most schools, and therefore should prepare specifically for the competition. The CMS has several resources available for competitors.

Past Competitions

The CMO Hall of Fame
The following pages list the CMO winners from past competitions sorted

Exam Archive

To report errors or omissions for this page, please contact

© Canadian Mathematical Society, 2017 :